Tag Archives: young adult

New Release: Echoes of Grace

Happy release day to Echoes of Grace by Guadalupe García McCall! Echoes of Grace is an elaborately woven gothic mystery set in modern-day South Texas in which a family tragedy and the echoes experienced by main character Grace allow her to piece together heartbreaking past events. In this triumphant new novel, Pura Belpré Award-winning author Guadalupe García McCall explores sisterhood, family secrets, intergenerational trauma, life, and love in a modern Gothic setting with a magical realist twist.

Continue reading

New Release: Boys of the Beast by Monica Zepeda

Today we are so thrilled to celebrate the release of Boys of the Beast by New Visions award-winning author Monica Zepeda! Quick-witted, heartfelt, and powerful in its messages of grief, acceptance, and differences, Boys of the Beast is perfect for fans of David Levithan, Benjamin Alire Sáenz, or Meg Medina. This story is a road trip that you won’t want to miss.

Continue reading

Lee & Low’s 2021 Holiday Gift Guide

Orange background with shiny, red bow; in white text "Lee & Low Books Holiday Gift Guide 2021"

We’re so excited to present our holiday gift guide for this year! If you are in the position to give gifts this year, this list has everything you could possibly be looking for.

By supporting diverse books, independent publishers and local booksellers, you’re helping to champion equity and inclusion while putting a smile on young readers’ faces!

Without further ado, here is Lee & Low’s holiday gift guide for 2021:

Continue reading

New Releases: Black Was the Ink and Thirty Talks Weird Love

Today we are celebrating the release of two heart-stopping young adult titles—Black Was the Ink written by Michelle Coles with illustrations by Justin Johnson and Thirty Talks Weird Love by Alessandra Narváez Varela!

Continue reading

Cover Reveal: Cat Girl’s Day Off

Released in 2012, Cat Girl’s Day Off introduces readers to Natalie (Nat) Ng, a typical teenager…except for the fact that she can talk to cats, which she tries very hard to hide. When one of her best friends, Oscar, shows her a viral Internet video featuring a famous blogger being attacked by her own cat, Nat realizes what’s really going on. Soon her and her friends are caught in the middle of a celebrity kidnapping mystery that takes them through Ferris Bueller’s Chicago and on and off movie sets.

Now we’re excited to release a new paperback version of Cat Girl’s Day Off.  Check out the new cover below! Continue reading

Cover Reveal: SHAME THE STARS

Shame the Stars by Pura Belpré Award-winning author Guadalupe Garcia McCall (Summer of the Mariposas, Under the Mesquite) is a reimagining of Romeo and Juliet set against the Mexican Revolution in 1915 Texas.

Shame the Stars is set to be released Fall 2016! We’re excited to share a first look at the cover with you today. Continue reading

Thirteen Scary YA Books: Diverse Edition

This post was originally posted October 14, 2014.

Halloween is right around the corner. There’s no better way to celebrate than by reading books that will scare you to pieces! Here’s a lucky thirteen list of our favorites (all featuring diverse characters or by diverse authors): Continue reading

Case Cracked: The Process of Editing Mystery Novels

trixie belden book cover
Trixie Belden

I’ve long been a fan of mysteries. Trixie Belden was my BFF as a third and fourth grader. Nancy Drew was another favorite. Veronica Mars updated the teen sleuth idea, bringing the storytelling form to a new generation.

When I got the chance to work on Valynne Maetani’s Ink and Ashes, our new YA mystery which comes out in June, all of those mysteries and more were going through my mind. Claire, the main character, has the spunk and curiosity of Veronica Mars and all of her predecessors, but she’s also a little different. And to honor those differences in the editing process, I needed to refresh myself on what’s out there right now in the teen mystery/suspense genre, and the mystery genre in general. Continue reading