Tag Archives: Tu Books

Lee & Low Books Announces the 2021 New Visions Award Winner

New Visions Award seal

New York, NY—Tu Books, an imprint of Lee & Low Books, is thrilled to announce the results of its ninth annual New Visions Award for new authors of color. This year, Nicki Jay has won the New Visions Award for her manuscript, The Marassa: Birth*Life*Death Book I.

Continue reading

New Release: Boys of the Beast by Monica Zepeda

Today we are so thrilled to celebrate the release of Boys of the Beast by New Visions award-winning author Monica Zepeda! Quick-witted, heartfelt, and powerful in its messages of grief, acceptance, and differences, Boys of the Beast is perfect for fans of David Levithan, Benjamin Alire Sáenz, or Meg Medina. This story is a road trip that you won’t want to miss.

Continue reading

New Releases: The Shadow Prince and The Witch Owl Parliament (Clockwork Curandera Vol. I)

It’s a double release day at Lee & Low Books! Today we are celebrating the release of The Shadow Prince by David Anthony Durham, as well as the English and Spanish versions of The Witch Owl Parliament (Clockwork Curandera #1) created by David Bowles and Raúl the Third, with coloring by Stacey Robinson and lettering by Damian Duffy.

Continue reading

Lee & Low Books Announces the 2021 New Visions Award Winner and Honor

New Visions Award sealNew York, NY—Tu Books, an imprint of Lee & Low Books, is thrilled to announce the results of its eighth annual New Visions Award writing contest. Established to increase the number of authors of color writing for children and teens, the New Visions Award is given to a middle grade or young adult manuscript by a new author of color or Indigenous/Native author. Winners receive a cash prize and publishing contract with Lee & Low Books. This year, Tiffany Golden has won the New Visions Award for her manuscript, Rikki and Rai: The Everyday and Sometimes Epic Adventures of the Tucker Sisters. The honor goes to Ana Rodriguez Ellickson for Roman the Renegade. Continue reading

Six Days Left to Support Our Kickstarter Campaign

Image with text Stretch Goals and cover images of THE WITCH OWL PARLIAMENT in English and Spanish

After just two weeks, our Kickstarter campaign to help bring our new graphic novel Clockwork Curandera Vol. 1: The Witch Owl Parliament to even more readers, is now fully funded! Mil gracias to everyone who believed in, supported, and shared this project. We are extremely grateful for each of you.

What comes next?

Our primary aim has always been to build preorders so we can expand our first print run, and all additional funding beyond our goal will allow us to do that on a larger scale. Beyond that, we wanted to share three stretch goals that are near and dear to us—including our biggest stretch goal, which has been a dream of ours since this project was in its earliest stages.

Continue reading

An Interview with A.M. Dassu, author of Boy, Everywhere

Today is the release day for Boy, Everywhere by debut author A. M. Dassu! In this powerful middle-grade debut, Sami and his family embark on a harrowing journey to save themselves from the Syrian civil war.

Watch author A. M. Dassu talk about why she wrote Boy, Everywhere. And read on to learn more about what moved Dassu to write this story, her experience and work with refugees, and the feedback she’s received from Syrian readers.

Continue reading

Launching Our First Kickstarter Campaign: Clockwork Curandera Vol. 1: The Witch Owl Parliament

We’re excited to share our new graphic novel, Clockwork Curandera Vol. 1: The Witch Owl Parliament, coming out October 19, 2021 from Lee & Low Books! It’s a steampunk graphic novel reimagining of Frankenstein set in colonial Mexico, with simultaneous English and Spanish editions, created by an award-winning Latinx team.

Today, we’re launching a Kickstarter campaign to help bring this special book to even more readers, which will run for thirty days. And we’re excited that it’s already been designated one of Kickstarter’s Projects We Love!

Continue reading

Cover Reveal: Black Was the Ink by Michelle Coles

Today we’re so excited to reveal the cover for our upcoming young adult novel, Black Was the Ink by Michelle Coles with illustrations by Justin Johnson, coming September 2021!

In Black Was the Ink, sixteen-year-old Malcolm is sent on a journey through Reconstruction-era America with the help of a ghostly ancestor. At the same time, he must work to save his family’s farm in present-day Mississippi from being claimed by the State.

Continue reading