Category Archives: Book News

New Release: The Sky We Shared

Today we are thrilled to celebrate the release of The Sky We Shared by Shirley Reva Vernick! In this thoughtful and deftly woven WWII novel, an American teen and a Japanese teen with lives on opposite ends of the world discover that hate for an “enemy” leaves a heavy heart.

Continue reading

New Release: Nobody’s Pilgrims

We are very excited to celebrate the release of Sergio Troncoso’s Nobody’s Pilgrims today! Looking for some buzzwords for this book? Look no further: dystopian, thriller, road-trip, coming of age, literary, genre-bending, and YA-crossover. Intrigued yet? Read on to learn more about Nobody’s Pilgrims and how to purchase your own copy!

Continue reading

Lee & Low Books 2022 Showcase: Watch the Recording!

Thank you to everyone who joined us for the Lee & Low Books 2022 Showcase. Whether you’re a parent, teacher, librarian, or bookseller, this webinar will help you discover great new books to diversify your shelves for readers of all ages (including adults)!

Continue reading

New Releases: Alicia and the Hurricane/Alicia y el huracán and ¡Ándale, Prieta!

We have a double whammy for this Tuesday’s book releases! We are so excited to be releasing Alicia and the Hurricane / Alicia y el huracán: A Story of Puerto Rico / Un cuento de Puerto Rico by Lesléa Newman and illustrated by Elizabeth Erazo Baez, as well as ¡Ándale, Prieta!: A Love Letter to My Family by Yasmín Ramírez.

Continue reading

New Release: Boys of the Beast by Monica Zepeda

Today we are so thrilled to celebrate the release of Boys of the Beast by New Visions award-winning author Monica Zepeda! Quick-witted, heartfelt, and powerful in its messages of grief, acceptance, and differences, Boys of the Beast is perfect for fans of David Levithan, Benjamin Alire Sáenz, or Meg Medina. This story is a road trip that you won’t want to miss.

Continue reading

Roundup: Lee & Low’s Spring 2022 Titles

It’s the start of spring! And though we are still in the midst of uncertainty, we hope that these fabulous new titles will brighten your 2022 and start your reading year off strong. Keep scrolling for a roundup of our Winter and Spring 2022 titles!

Continue reading

Cover Reveal of BLESSING’S BEAD + Interview with Cover Artist Nasugraq Rainey Hopson

Today we are so excited to reveal the new cover for Blessing’s Bead by Debby Dahl Edwardson! Available in paperback on June 29, 2022, this acclaimed middle-grade novel traces four generations of an Inupiaq family in Alaska. In this blog post, we interviewed cover artist Nasugraq Rainey Hopson about the cover creation process and the significance of incorporating Inupiaq cultural elements into her work.

Continue reading

Over 50 titles added to Reading Recovery® Bebop Books!

Another 50+ titles have been added to Reading Recovery® Bebop Books collection!

Lee & Low Books is proud to be the nation’s largest publisher of multicultural children’s books. With the launch of our expanded Reading Recovery® Bebop Books collection, schools across the country will now be able to bring more equity, inclusion, and diversity into their classroom libraries.

Continue reading

New Release: Ten Blocks to the Big Wok

Today we are excited to release our latest picture book, Ten Blocks to the Big Wok by Ying-Hwa Hu! In Ten Blocks to the Big Wok, beautifully vivid illustrations aid readers in learning how to count to ten in both Mandarin and English while also presenting elements of Chinese culture for readers to discover along the way.

By the end of the book, readers won’t just be hungry for soup dumplings and egg tarts—they’ll be hungry to learn more!  

Continue reading