2022 Pride Month Booklist and Resources

Pride Month is right around the corner! We’ve rounded up some of our favorite books, resources, and collections to celebrate. Promote awareness and advocacy with these children’s books featuring LGBTQ+ voices and perspectives while also addressing universal themes in any relevant setting.  

When Aidan Became a Brother, written by Kyle Lukoff, illustrated by Kaylani Juanita: This sweet picture book celebrates the changes in a transgender boy’s life, from his initial coming-out to becoming a big brother.

Sparkle Boy, written by Lesléa Newman, illustrated by Maria Mola: Young Casey loves sparkly things, but his older sister Jessie does not approve of his interest until an encounter with bullies helps her learn to accept and respect Casey for who he is.

Call Me Tree/Llámame Árbol, written and illustrated by Maya Christina Gonzalez: A gender-neutral tale of self-discovery told by a child who grows, learns about the natural world, embraces others, and is free to become whoever they are meant to be—a child as unique as a tree. Bilingual English/Spanish.

Antonio’s Card/La Tarjeta de Antonio, written by Rigoberto González, illustrated by Cecilia Álvarez: In this groundbreaking bilingual picture book, Antonio decides to make a Mother’s Day card for both his mother and her partner.

What We Believe: A Black Lives Matter Principles Activity Book, written by Laleña Garcia, illustrated by Caryn Davidson: This powerful activity book will engage hands, hearts, and minds as it introduces children to the guiding principles of the Black Lives Matter movement. Also check out How We Can Live (coming October 18).

The Harvey Milk Story, written by Kari Krakow, illustrated by David Gardner (coming June 21): A hopeful and inspiring biography of the historic gay activist Harvey Milk, who gave people the courage to be proud of who they are.

That Summer Night on Frenchmen Street by Chris Clarkson (coming June 21): Set in magical New Orleans, two teens from vastly different worlds find that sharing their strengths, including the love of their friends and family, may just be the path to finding wholeness within themselves.

The Witch Owl Parliament (Clockwork Curandera Vol. I) created by David Bowles & Raúl the Third, coloring by Stacey Robinson and lettering by Damian Duffy: Discover a graphic novel unlike any other–a brilliant steampunk reimagining of Frankenstein set in colonial Mexico. Also available in Spanish.

Jaya and Rasa: A Love Story by Sonia Patel: Jaya’s a rich kid. Rasa’s motherless and broke. Opposite sides of the tracks. Romeo and Juliet, on fair Oahu.

Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero: In this groundbreaking William C. Morris Award winner for a YA debut, Gabi’s life is a mess–her family, her friends, her attempts at a love life–but writing helps, especially since it turns out she’s pretty good at poetry.

Boys of the Beast by Monica Zepeda: Three cousins. Four days. One car. This smart and fearless road-trip novel is perfect for fans of Benjamin Alire Sáenz or Meg Medina.

LGBTQ+ Resources:
LGBTQ+ Children’s Book List and Resources
LGBTQ+ Children’s Books Webinar
LGBTQ+ Book Collection

What books and resources are you sharing for Pride Month? Share in the comments below!

One thought on “2022 Pride Month Booklist and Resources”

  1. These are great books for Pride Month! I recently read Sparkle Boy with my class and this text brought up some rich classroom discussions about inclusion and acceptance. Thank you for sharing this resource!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.