Roundup: Lee & Low’s Spring 2022 Titles

It’s the start of spring! And though we are still in the midst of uncertainty, we hope that these fabulous new titles will brighten your 2022 and start your reading year off strong. Keep scrolling for a roundup of our Winter and Spring 2022 titles!

Where Wonder Grows and Donde las maravillas crecen
written by Xelena González, illustrated by Adriana Garcia
Publication date: Out now!
starred review, Kirkus Reviews
starred review, Publishers Weekly

From the creators of the award-winning picture book All Around Us comes another lyrical intergenerational story exploring our connections to nature, family, and traditions.

Ten Blocks to the Big Wok
written and illustrated by Ying-Hwa Hu
Publication date: Out now!

This charming bilingual English/Mandarin counting book uses a stroll through Chinatown to introduce readers to the numbers one through ten in Chinese . . . and will leave you hungry besides!

Boys of the Beast
written by Monica Zepeda
Publication date: April 2022

Three cousins. Four days. One car. This smart and fearless road-trip novel is perfect for fans of David Levithan, Benjamin Alire Sáenz, or Meg Medina.

Alicia and the Hurricane: A Story of Puerto Rico / Alicia y el huracán: un cuento de Puerto Rico
written by Lesléa Newman, illustrated by Elizabeth Erazo Baez
Publication date: April 2022

Bestselling author Lesléa Newman offers a tender and timely story of a Puerto Rican child facing a hurricane and her concern for the beloved coquíes of her home island.

¡Ándale Prieta!: A Love Letter to My Family
written by Yasmín Ramirez
Publication date: April 2022

This beautifully open coming-of-age memoir by a Mexican American debut writer doubles as a love letter to the tough grandmother who raised her.

Juna and Appa cover image

Juna and Appa
written by Jane Park; illustrated by Felicia Hoshino
Publication date: May 2022

From the creators of the award-winning picture book Juna’s Jar comes a new magical tale where Juna embarks on a journey to help her biggest hero—her appa!

Nobody’s Pilgrims
written by Sergio Troncoso
Publication date: May 2022

No Country for Old Men meets Contagion in this story of three teenagers on the run, carrying a great menace, and chased by a greater evil.

The Harvey Milk Story cover image

The Harvey Milk Story
written by Kari Krakow; illustrated by David Gardner
Publication date: May 2022

Now in paperback: hopeful and heartening biography of Harvey Milk, the first openly gay man to be elected to public office, who gave people the courage to be proud of who they are.

BOTTLE TOPS cover image

Bottle Tops
written by Alison Goldberg; illustrated by Elizabeth Zunon
Publication date: May 2022

The inspiring biography introduces young readers to Ghanaian artist El Anatsui, whose handmade sculptures, created from discarded bottle tops, have received international acclaim and been showcased around the world.

Echoes of Grace cover image

Echoes of Grace
written by Guadalupe García McCall
Publication date: June 2022
starred review, Kirkus Reviews

In this triumphant new novel, Pura Belpré Award-winning author Guadalupe García McCall explores sisterhood, family secrets, intergenerational trauma, and love in a modern Gothic setting with a magical realist twist.

The Sky We Shared cover image

The Sky We Shared
written by Shirley Reva Vernick
Publication date: June 2022

This historical fiction novel weaves little-known historical events into a thoughtful tale of two teens—one American, one Japanese—whose wartime lives on opposite sides of the world lead them to discover that hate for an “enemy” leaves a heavy heart.

THAT SUMMER NIGHT ON FRENCHMEN STREET cover image

That Summer Night on Frenchmen Street
written by Chris Clarkson
Publication date: June 2022

Set in magical New Orleans, two teens from vastly different worlds discover that sharing their strengths, including the love of their friends and family, may just be the path to finding wholeness within themselves.

Blessing's Bead cover image

Blessing’s Bead
written by Debby Dahl Edwardson; art by Nasugraq Rainey Hopson
Publication date: June 2022

Now in paperback: the acclaimed middle-grade novel following four generations of an Iñupiaq family in Alaska, which the Washington Post praised as “a rare and beautiful book.”

Want to hear more about these titles and more? Join us for our 2022 Editorial Showcase.

Want to share with friends, librarians, and educators? You can find our shareable 2022 Preview sheet here! You can also request review copies here on Edelweiss.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.