Diverse Summer Reading Recommendations for Grades PreK-2

Diverse Summer Reading List

Let’s kick off summer with our engaging, printable Diverse Summer Reading List that will get all kids engaged in reading! Our list includes both fiction and nonfiction, bilingual Spanish/English titles, and a diverse range of cultures—in other words, the right book for every reader! The collections are available on our website for purchase:

Summer Reading Collection Grades PreK-2
Summer Reading Collection Grades 3-5
Summer Reading Collection Grades 6-8

Want to expand your Summer Reading list, but not sure where to begin? Keep reading for pairings of diverse bestsellers with our favorite new picks for grades PreK-2, and stay tuned over the upcoming weeks when we’ll spotlight Grades 3-5 and Grades 6-8!

For fans of Grace Lin’s Ling & Ting: try Confetti Kids

Encourage your young readers to try a new early chapter book series with Confetti Kids! Meet five friends from diverse backgrounds learning to navigate common childhood challenges, new experiences, and the world around them in realistic and kid-friendly stories!

Ling and Confetti

For fans of Ada Twist, Scientist:  Galápagos Girl/ Galapagueña

If you have readers passionate about science and all things STEM, check out Galápagos Girl/Galapagueña, a charming bilingual picture book that introduces the fascinating creatures of the Galápagos Islands through the life of one very lucky girl! Pair this book if you’re working in an outdoor space this summer to get kids involved with preserving their community.

Ada Twist + Galapagos Girl

For fans of I Walk with Vanessa: Try Benji, the Bad Day, and Me

Discuss the importance of kindness and empathy with I Walk with Vanessa and Benji, the Bad Day, and Me. In Benji, the Bad Day, and Me, Sammy is having the absolute rottenest, worst day ever. His little brother, Benji, knows exactly what that’s like in this tender, neurodiverse story about siblings and being supportive of one another.

Vanessa and Benji

More in this series:

Diverse Summer Reading Recommendations for Grades 3-5
Diverse Summer Reading Recommendations for Grades 6-8

What other diverse books do your kids enjoy? Leave comments below to share!

2 thoughts on “Diverse Summer Reading Recommendations for Grades PreK-2”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *